Happy March

March came in like a lamb here in Central Oregon, and with Jenee being in Michigan working at a small animal clinic in Grand Rapids I have been getting out and enjoying the spring weather with Gus.

I had a great day of skiing at Bachelor the first day of March, and it was great to she’d layers and carve down the soft, corn-like snow on a bluebird day!

Spring Skiing Bachelor

 

 

 

I also rented some telemark touring skis and boots to tour an area of the Pole Creek fire that had been burned out. I had cross country skied here a few times before, but the gentle slope of the glades, and the deep snow made me want to try my first ever backcountry skiing experience. Gus and I toured back to the area I had explored, and made some fun laps down the gentle slopes of perfectly silky, untouched powder snow. I can safely say that backcountry skiing will be something I will continue to explore for many winters to come.

Backcountry Skiing Three Creeks photo 2 photo 1

 

 

Gus and I have also been able to get on the rivers quite a bit lately, with the weather being sunny and temps in the mid 50s up to 65 it made for some active fish, and a craving for summer to be developed. We fished small red and trout n the Crooked River east of Bend out in a beautiful desert canyon, and also tried our hand at the famous Metolious River near Sisters OR. The Metolious is literally crystal clear, with spooky, native rainbow trout. These trout are educated on a fly, and are incredibly difficult to catch. Without making anymore excuses, it is needless to say I got skunked on the Metolious, but I will be back!

Metolious River near Sisters, OR

 

Happy Spring (almost)

Leave a Reply

